iPhone iOS 4.2 Airplay with Belkin Bluetooth Music Receiver

For a while now I’ve been looking at ways to get my spotify account to play over my B&W Zeppelin wirelessly, after discounting a Sonos system I looked at Apple’s Airport Express but found the setup not ultimately straightforward.

After Apple announced the inclusion of airplay with iOS 4.2 I discovered the Belkin Bluetooth Music Receiver, but is it any good?

Well to be honest, yes.  Setup is very straightforward, plug the power adapter and audio output cable into the puck shaped unit and connect to your speaker dock or stereo system.  The iPhone finds the Belkin unit straight away and doesn’t even need pairing, contrary to the instruction manual which I found strange.  Once connected a small blue LED illuminates to show an active bluetooth connection with the iPhone.

Belkin Bluetooth Music Receiver

Sound quality is very good and Belkin state that the unit is able to operate with a range of 30ft, although I’d qualify that by adding “line of sight”.  I have experienced very brief dropouts when moving the iPhone behind a wall into another room, although it recovers very quickly and continues playing.

The Belkin Bluetooth Music Receiver can be picked up for around £17 delivered, add to that the fact it will work with almost any stereo system which accepts external inputs and stream any audio source (Spotify, iPod, Last.fm, Tunein Radio) from an iOS device.  It allows remote volume control from within Airplay so no looking round for another remote control.  Overall it’s a very capable product and does everything expected of it well.  9/10

BUY ONE NOW!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Apple, Music, Technology

6 responses to “iPhone iOS 4.2 Airplay with Belkin Bluetooth Music Receiver

  1. Noogle1

    Great post, thanks. I found you from a link on B&W’s official site! I assume the Belkin must have its own internal D-A converter to output analogue audio from the Bluetooth digital bitstream? I’m a bit of a hi-fi freak, so do you happen to know of any similar Bluetooth adapters which have a digital output (e.g. USB or Toslink optical)?
    Many thanks!

    • I’ve looked into the various receivers available and all seem to connect using twin rca or 3.5mm stereo. I’ve not found any yet which use toslink or USB but I’ll let you know if I do.
      QED make a similar product which uses apt-X audio coding which apparently “provide; outstanding audio quality, an extremely low latency and a strong resilience to errors.”
      It is slightly more expensive though and can be viewed here QED LIVE uPLAY WIRELESS BLUETOOTH AUDIO RECEIVER

  2. Noogle1

    Thanks. The apt-X digital stuff in the QED widget looks great, but being an untreated audio obsessive, I’d worry too much about most of this goodness being flushed away by the quality of the DAC. The search continues!

  3. Shaun

    I’m not sure why you had to go through all that trouble.
    Airtunes is the easiest way forward. Once set up, If I open ‘iPod’
    on my iPhone (4) and select the zeppelins in my stream options,
    then all the songs we play on spotifty are streamed through the
    speakers. Great for parties (we prefer to use the ipad for parties
    though).

    • By default a Zeppelin will not show up in AirTunes unless connected to an airport express. The belkin unit allows playback from any app directly from iPhone or iPad without an iTunes library or need for a mac or pc.

  4. Jorge

    I have just tried, connecting it to my Hi Fi ARCAM equipment, and the results are sincerely disapointing. I’m getting much better quality out of my modest PC loudspeackers, so I’m giving out.

Leave a Reply

